NIEUW! Choix de la langue | Taalkeuze | Language choice | Nederlands | English | Frans

1. Shahadah (faith statement)
Faith begins with the Shahadah. Shahadah is a saying professing monotheism and accepting Muhammad as God's messenger. It is a set statement normally recited in Arabic. This entails that one not only accepts the statement of faith by proclaiming it, but that one believes with his/her whole heart that Allah is one and that he doesn't have any companion.

2. Salat (Prayer)
Salat is the Islamic prayer. It consists of five daily prayers.

3. Zakat (Alms-giving)
This is the practice of charitable giving by Muslims based on accumulated wealth, and is obligatory for all who are able to do so. It is considered to be a personal responsibility for Muslims to ease economic hardship for others and eliminate inequality. Zakat consists of spending 2.5% of one's wealth for the benefit of the poor or needy.

4. Sawm (Fasting)
Men and women are obliged to fast from dawn to dusk during the month Ramadan.

5. Hajj (Pilgrimage to Mecca)
It is the duty of every adult Muslim who has a sound mind and is physically healthy and strong to make the pilgrimage at least once in a lifetime.
Webdesign Proximedia